IRCC increases number of citizenship judges from 5 to 14

Settlement ISC Citizenship & Immigration, Updates

Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC) has appointed 10 citizenship judges. The number of citizenship judges has been increased from five to 14. They are located in Halifax, Montreal, the Greater Toronto Area, Winnipeg, Edmonton, and Vancouver and Surrey, British Columbia.

In Canada, citizenship judges are officials who make decisions on some citizenship applications, presiding over citizenship ceremonies and administering the oath of citizenship to new citizens. They are appointed to a 3-year term by the Governor in Council on the recommendation of the Minister of IRCC. 

For more information, you can visit IRCC’s website.