Canada ends the Designated Country of Origin practice – IRCC

Settlement ISC Citizenship & Immigration, Daily Life, Updates Leave a Comment

Canada removes all countries from the designated country of origin list

“The Government of Canada is committed to a well-managed asylum system that’s fair, fast and final. Effective May 17, 2019, Canada is removing all countries from the designated country of origin (DCO) list, which effectively suspends the DCO policy, introduced in 2012, until it can be repealed through future legislative changes.

Claimants from the 42 countries on the DCO list were previously subject to a 6-month bar on work permits, a bar on appeals at the Refugee Appeals Division, limited access to the Interim Federal Health Program and a 36-month bar on the Pre-Removal Risk Assessment.”

Source: Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship CanadaLink

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *