Indigenous Languages Resource Centre

Lisa Cai Newcomer Information, Updates

As a newcomer to the City of Calgary, you need to know about the language and culture of the land you now live on.

What is Treaty 7?
  • Treaty 7 is the last of the Numbered Treaties made between the Government of Canada and the Plains First Nations.
  • Treaty 7 was signed on September 22, 1877 by five First Nations:
    • The Siksika (Blackfoot)
    • The Kainai (Blood)
    • The Piikani (Peigan)
    • The Stoney-Nakoda
    • The Tsuut’ina (Sarcee)

Did you know that the Calgary Public Library has an Indigenous Languages Resource Centre? It is located on Level 4 at Central Library. Usually, you would be able to visit the Centre and do the following:

  • Meet with Elders
  • Share stories under a night sky installation
  • View traditional items
  • Learn Treaty 7 languages

But due to the COVID-19 situation, in-person services are not available at the moment, but we encourage you to visit the Indigenous Languages Resource Centre online to

  • Learn through video tutorials
  • Download free learning apps to learn Treaty 7 languages

Learn more about Treaty 7:

The Calgary Library also offers indigenous services:

Word of the Day:

Treaty: a formal agreement made by negotiation